Theme for the Year: Embracing Imperfection

Embracing imperfection is a hard thing for me to do. But one thing I’ve realized is that my idea of perfection actually keeps me from achieving anything. I wait to even start until perfection is possible to achieve, which never happens due to time and resources.

This year, however, I’ve decided to change that. I am just going to do things, get them started. If I want to go back later and do more to get them to a status of perfection, I can, but then at least I’m one step closer.

For instance, scrapbooking. I’ve never been a great scrapbooker, but I keep things around to put in a scrapbook one day. So I have little boxes of keepsakes everywhere. I’ve started just putting them in the scrapbook! No need for it to look super pretty because all I really need is to have them all in one place that I can pack around with me as I move and look at every once in a while. If, much later, I’ve decided I have the time and energy to add another step then I will. But at least I’ve started, I’ve done something, my brain feels a little relief from getting just an inch closer to this goal it’s been holding onto.

Next up: The apartment. I need to put everything in a place. Doesn’t matter if it’s a good place, it just needs to go somewhere or get out of my house! If you haven’t read Marie Kondo’s The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up and you hate clutter, then you should probably start it. So that’s what I’m going to do – KonMarie my house. Get rid of things so there’s no need to take the time to come up with fantastic organizational systems and take care of more and more stuff.

IMG_1832

 

2 thoughts on “Theme for the Year: Embracing Imperfection

Leave a Reply

